Phase 2 of Hip Check

hoody

This is me giving myself a mental pep talk. I’ve been fighting a pretty bad cough and haven’t stuck to my new commitment to recommitting very well. Can I just chalk it up to the cough … I mean breathing is a basic need when running, right?

I also picked up an awesome new running hoodie from Brooks (in the photo). I love how the hood is snug around the face, and it will be perfect for those transitional season runs. Giving it a spin today said it was totally worth the small splurge. It’s super soft, wicks my sweat away and hugs me like a dream. Of course, it’s not all about the clothes, but the clothes help when you feel like you fighting an uphill battle to get your mojo back.

Speaking of other ways of getting my mojo back … I am proud of how well I’ve stuck to the Runner’s World Hip Check routine. Today I entered phase 2 … and it’s all about the glutes for the next four weeks. In addition, I’ve added an ab challenge to my routine for March. Here’s to crunches, leg raises and planks … progressively doing more each day (with rest days thrown in every 4 days, of course.)

On the running front, I’m starting to get serious about scoping the 1/2 for next year. Ideally, I wanted to do it in the fall … but the DisneyRun half in the fall is a late night run (10 p.m.) and while I don’t have issues with running in the dark … not ideal when you want your family cheering you on. So, now it looks like the Princess half may be my best bet … but it’s in February … so, it will change my whole training strategy.

As I always say … time to suck it up, princess!

I’m also contemplating creating a 50 by 50 list. Totally inspired by my friend Katharine who has a 40 by 40 list. She’s made amazing progress on completing the things she has on the list … it’s like a bucket list but with a deadline … how perfect. So, watch for a full list soon. Because, of course, once it’s in writing, you have to do it, don’t you?

Leave a comment