Souffle?

I am not quite sure why I wanted to attempt making a cheese souffle before I turned 50, but for some reason I did. Today is the day I tackled that goal.

img_3200

If you’re going to try and tackle making a souffle, you might as well go big and follow Julia Child’s recipe. Which is what I did. As you can see from the photo above, my souffle did not rise up enough to topple over the sides of the dish. I am not sure if this is due to some error in my creation of it, or as a result that I have two wild boys running around in my kitchen jumping around and creating miniature earthquakes. Regardless, it did not tower of the sides as I was hoping.

In the end, it tasted fine. It looked okay (well, okay, no it didn’t look good once I tried to scoop it out. To be fair, the site I was following the recipe did not have any pictures of it being served, they just showed it in the dish and then the empty dish.

The best part of the endeavor was that I had K by my side throughout the ordeal. I enjoy those moments where we share some type of achievement. And bless him, he ate it and said it tasted good, and that he was proud of our accomplishment.

img_3199

And that is better than anything I could ask for, spending time and trying something new with one of my little men. Of course, I can cross this off my 50 x 50 list. Thankfully. I don’t think I’ll try it again. Frankly, it had too many steps, used too many dishes and the ROI just wasn’t there for me. I’ll just make cheesy scrambled eggs the next time I’m hankering for some cheesy egg food.

Leave a comment